Put Your Records On: Michael Stec

stec

At The Great Record Chase we strive to get inside the heads of prominent new artists, and what makes their musical nerves tick. Over the course of several months we have been putting together a project in which a selection of new artists on our radar have put together an editorial. This consists of musical influences that formed, shaped, and brought to life their sound. There has been an impressive amount of new talent that has come our way since starting this website back in the Fall, and we want to take everything to a whole new level.

Today we sit down with singer-songwriter-indie-pop-mastermind, MICHAEL STEC, straight out of Philadelphia. His brilliant new single, “Party Dress” has been making the rounds in the blogosphere, creating quite an impression among listeners. Dive in and check it out!

Name three albums or artists that influenced your musical styling you play today and why they are important to you.

Bright Eyes

John Mayer

The Strokes

Connor Oberst’s lyricism, John Mayer’s jazz chords, and Julian Casablanca’s moxy.

What made them so influential to you? 

Probably had a lot to do with the age I was at when listening to them.

When did you first discover them?

Grade school. I remember finding “June On The West Coast” on a set list my brother had made on a hand me down iPod(funny that that’s actually a thing) and listening to it every night falling asleep for weeks

How did they help form the music you play today?

I think i sort of unconsciously emulated john mayer’s style of singing because I was told so often that I sounded like him. I was never big on the comparison but if the shoe fits.I really love Oberst’s writing. I don’t think I’ve ever brushed upon his genius but it’s always what I’m quietly aiming for. I remember watching the music video for “last night” and just thinking “shit, I wanna be that guy”.

Leave a Reply

